Smile!

An older, wiser, smile
An older, wiser, smile

The second of my Christmas progress reports. This time my Little Smiler; a bit of a refresh, this is not an attempt at a historical cheese but wanting to add a child friendly, easy eating cheese to my portfolio. I hoped that allowing it to mature I would none the less end up with older Little Smilers ageing into a deeply wicked grin. I used a gouda type technique to create the cheese; probably the most intensive of all the techniques I have tried, with lots of stirring involved.  Once formed, brined and then coated in wax there was little else to do but turning them, with absolutely no idea what was going on below the surface.

Little Smilers in brine
Little Smilers in brine
Ready for waxing
Ready for waxing

Good news!  The cheese tastes good, fresh, sharpish, has a slightly crumbly texture, bright white in colour. The only disappointment is that I should have been more patient in maturing the second cheese to gain a stronger flavour. Next time I will make a larger batch for sure and as well as eating some in the 60-90 day period I would love to keep one or two on for 9-12 months and see what happens.

A younger Little Smiler
A younger Little Smiler
4 thoughts on “Smile!

Leave a Reply

